If you have been charged in Richmond or Central Virginia with a traffic violation such as reckless driving, speeding or a DUI/DWI, it is important to hire an attorney that is experienced and can get you the best possible result.
I have over 20 years of experience as a trial lawyer. Everyday, I represent people charged with speeding, reckless driving and/or a DUI/DWI and/or other criminal charges.
Contact my Richmond, Virginia law office for a free confidential case evaluation by phone or email. Call my office at 804-355-0016 or my cell phone at 804-814-1489 or email me at email@example.com
Focus and Familiarity
My Richmond, Virginia law office specializes in traffic and criminal cases. I handle all traffic offenses and most criminal offenses. My mission is to provide exceptional, personal service for a reasonable fee, while focusing on achieving the best possible case results.
I am familiar with most of the jurisdictions surrounding Richmond, VA and can help my clients anticipate what to expect from the court with their case. Because I have also developed strong relationships with the prosecutors, judges and law enforcement officers in these jurisdictions and I know what needs to be done to achieve a successful outcome in your case.
Contact Standish Alexander, a seasoned and effective Richmond, VA traffic and criminal attorney.
Effective and Affordable
I have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, a rating of Superb by AVVO and I have been rated as one of the Top 100 DUI attorneys in VA by The National Advocacy for DUI Defense, LLC or NAFDD and I have also been included in Rue Ratings' Best Attorneys of America. I strive to provide aggressive and results oriented, cost-effective representation.
Reckless Driving by Speed in Virginia
In Virginia, reckless driving is a criminal offense. It is not your garden variety traffic ticket that can be pre-paid prior to court with minimal consequences. You can be charged with reckless driving in Virginia at any speed over 80 mph or more than 20 mph over the speed limit. In a 70 mph speed zone, 81 mph is reckless driving. Reckless Driving is a Class 1 Misdemeanor which means that upon conviction there is the possibility of a maximum jail sentence of up to 12 months, a license suspension of up to six months and a fine of up to $2500.
As a practical matter, most judges in Richmond and Central Virginia will not impose a jail sentence or a license suspension unless the defendant was driving at least 90 mph or at least 30 mph over the speed limit. Nevertheless, if you are convicted of reckless driving in Virginia, it will become a permanent part of your criminal record, your insurance costs could dramatically increase and your insurance carrier could drop you. However, it is often possible, under appropriate circumstances, to have a reckless driving charge reduced to a non-criminal offense such as simple speeding or even dismissed. In addition, if you have been charged with reckless driving and you live in another state or several hours from the courthouse, a lawyer can often appear on your behalf.
It is common knowledge that a DUI is a serious offense and it is essential to hire an effective and experienced advocate. I am an experienced and successful Richmond, Virginia DUI attorney. Not all criminal defense and traffic attorneys are good DUI attorneys. An effective DUI attorney must understand the legal, medical and scientific issues that are involved in DUI cases and use that knowledge to achieve the best results possible. Because the penalties for a DUI are severe, the decision as to which attorney you hire is a critical one.
Consequences of a DUI/DWI in Virginia
DUI 1st: The penalties for a first offense DWI in Virginia include a maximum fine of up to $2,500, imprisonment for up to 12 months (all of which can be suspended), and a one-year suspension of the person's driving privileges (with eligibility for a 12 month restricted license if ignition interlock is installed for at least six months). However, if the blood alcohol concentration of the defendant at the time of testing was between 0.15 to 0.20, there is a 5-day mandatory minimum sentence of incarceration that cannot be suspended. If the blood alcohol concentration was greater than 0.20, there is an additional mandatory minimum sentence of 10 days of incarceration that cannot be suspended.
DUI 2nd: The penalties for a second offense DUI conviction in Virginia within a 5-year period include a mandatory minimum fine of $500, imprisonment for up to 12 months with a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 20 days that cannot be suspended, and a three year license suspension with no eligibility for a restricted license for at least a year. The penalties for a second offense DUI within a 5 to 10 year period include a mandatory minimum fine of $500, a 10 day jail sentence that cannot be suspended, and a three year license suspension with no eligibility for a restricted license for at least four months. However, in either case, if the person's blood alcohol concentration was between 0.15 to 0.20, the penalties, in addition to what has been previously stated, include an additional mandatory minimum jail sentence of 10 days. If the level is above 0.20, there is an additional 20 days of mandatory incarceration.
DUI 3rd: The penalty for a third Virginia DUI conviction within 10 years includes a term of imprisonment of one to five years and a maximum fine of $2,500, with a mandatory minimum incarceration of 90 days. If the three convictions were within five years, the mandatory minimum incarceration period increases to six months. A third DUI conviction within a 10-year period also results in an "indefinite" revocation of the person's driving privileges.
A Guide to Help You Through the Legal Process
Many of my clients are first time offenders who are unfamiliar with the legal process. I thoroughly explain to my clients the legal procedures involved with their cases and guide them through the process. I am able to help my clients anticipate the likely hurdles, typical results and best defenses for their type of case.
Contact my Richmond, Virginia law office for a free confidential phone or INTERNET consultation. Call my office at 804-355-0016 or my cell phone at 804-814-1489. I return most calls or e-mails within 24 hours. E-mail me for a free case evaluation at firstname.lastname@example.org. You can also find me on Google+.
Twenty Years of Experience, Thousands of Cases
You can expect personalized and exceptional representation at reasonable rates from my office in areas such as:
- Traffic Violations
- Driver's License Suspension
- Underage Drinking
- Criminal Defense
- Drug Offenses
- Student Crimes
- Personal Injury
- CDL Drivers
- License Restoration