Drivers License Restoration
Richmond Virginia Suspended License Attorney
I am Standish Alexander, Esq., and I have more than 25 years of experience with defending driving while suspended/revoked charges and with helping habitual offenders get their license restored. Contact me today for a free consultation as to how to start the process of reinstating your license or if you need representation for the charge of driving while suspended.
I Can Help You Get Your License Back
If you have been convicted of drug possession or a DUI/DWI and would like to obtain restricted driving privileges, trying to do so without an experienced Virginia driver’s license restoration lawyer can be a difficult and often unsuccessful process. I have significant experience with cases that involve convincing the court to grant restricted driving privileges.
If you have been determined by the courts or the DMV to be a habitual offender there is a procedural process that you need to go through in order for your license or your privileges to drive in Virginia to be reinstated. I am familiar with that process and I have helped dozens of individuals over that legal hurdle. If you have been determined to be a habitual offender because of driving revoked/suspended charges only, and all fines and costs have been paid, this is a relatively quick and simple procedure. However, if the habitual offender determination is based at all upon DUI/DWI convictions, a court ordered VASAP evaluation is required which lengthens the process by approximately 90 days.
Driving While Suspended/Revoked
It’s not uncommon for individuals to be stopped for a minor traffic violation, that ultimately results in the much more serious charge of Driving while Suspended/Revoked. Don’t risk driving with a suspended license. If you are convicted of driving with a suspended/revoked license the result will be fines, possible jail time, an additional loss of driving privileges and a criminal record. It is not worth the risk. The charge of Driving while Suspended/Revoked under VA Code section 46.2-301 is a Class 1 Misdemeanor with a maximum sentence of 12 months in jail, an additional 6 month license suspension and a fine of up to $2500. A third offense of Driving while Suspended has a mandatory 10 day jail sentence. Most courts will not impose jail time for a first offense violation.
If you are able to get your license back prior to court and have a skilled Virginia driver’s license restoration attorney you may be able to have the charge reduced to the lesser included offense of Driving without a Valid Operator’s License under VA Code section 46.2-300 (which usually will not result in additional license suspension or jail time). Under the best of circumstances, a licensed and well represented defendant may be possibly have the charge reduced to the non-criminal offense of Driving without a License under VA Code 46.2-104 which results only in a $10 fine.
DMV Drive-To-Work Program
A great resource to utilize if your license has been suspended due to unpaid court fines is the VA DMV’s Drive-To-Work program. They have attorneys on staff that can work with the court’s and collection agency’ s to negotiate payment plans so that you can obtain a restricted license to drive to and from work. DMV Drive to Work.
Contact my Richmond law office today if you have issues regarding a suspended or revoked license.