Richmond, VA Marijuana Possession Defense Lawyer
Being charged with any drug crime in Virginia can have a long-lasting negative impact on you. Criminal procedure in the courts is complex and you do not want to face these charges on your own or with less than adequate representation. You have the right to effective legal representation and you want to exercise that right.
My experience as a former public defender means that I, Standish Alexander Esq., have an informed perspective on how to defend drug crimes cases. Contact me for a free consultation and let me help you build a defense against your drug charge in Virginia.
Is it a Misdemeanor or Felony?
Federal guidelines classify Marijuana as a Schedule I drug. In Virginia, if you are charged with marijuana possession of a quantity less than 1/2 of an ounce, you are being charged with a criminal misdemeanor. This charge could earn you a maximum penalty of 30 days in jail and a $500 fine for your first offense. For your second offense of marijuana possession, you could face a maximum penalty of up to 12 months in jail and a $2500 fine.
Depending on the amount of marijuana that you had in your possession, i.e. if it is more than 1/2 oz., you could be charged with a felony. A charge of possession with intent to sell over that amount of marijuana is also felony.
With any drug charge conviction, you will lose your driver's license for at lease 6 months. In addition, the court will place you on probation, and may require you to do community service and submit to random drug testing. Ideally, you want to avoid having a criminal record. A drug charge conviction could have a lifelong impact on your options for employment, jobs and loans
Richmond Drug Possession Case Attorney
As your lawyer, I work to develop the best possible defenses for your case. If the officer discovered your marijuana possession during a stop for a minor traffic violation, I look to examine whether the officer performed a legal search and seizure.
My experience negotiating with prosecutors means that, under the right circumstance, I may be able to have the charges against you reduced or dismissed. It may also be possible to get your charge reduced to possession of drug paraphernalia in which case your license would not be suspended. In addition, an intent to distribute marijuana charge can sometimes be reduced to a marijuana possession charge.
Your first consultation with me is free of charge, so you have nothing to lose. Contact my criminal defense and drug offense law office today or call 804-355-0016. You can also find me on Google+.